FOR AZEROTH! EP. 194 – “INSERT AWESOME EVENT HERE”

Legion Timewalking is extended through to January. The PTR receives the last major build of the year. Shaman buffs abound! Are the Holidays saved?!?


Legion Timewalking Extended

After we recorded our previous episode, Team 2 announced that they will be extending Legion Timewalking. The event continues until January 4th.

  • Two additional weeks of Legion Timewalking including:
    • Timewalking Dungeons
    • Timewalking Mythic Keystone Dungeons
    • Mage Tower
  • Overlaps with other weekend events.
  • Nerfs are live for the scenarios
    • NPCs have received targeted nerfs.
    • Additional targeted mechanic changes based on specialization.
  • Items have had scaling adjusted to curb abuses.

Legion Timewalking Extended

We have received the 3rd full build.

  • Tier sets were revised for Shadow Priests and Arms Warriors.
  • The Elemental and Enhancement Shaman adjustments are in this build.
  • New customization added – 3 new Night Elf male face options.
  • Chapters 6 and 7 are available for testing on the PTR (BEWARE OF SPOILERS)
  • The last build of the year with the next full build update will come to the PTR the first week of January 2022.

Raid Testing

Team 2 announced further raid tests coming up.

Thursday, December 16th

  • Halondrus the Reclaimer – Heroic Sepulcher of the First Ones
    • 13:00 PST (16:00 EST, 22:00 CET)
  • Prototype Pantheon – Heroic Sepulcher of the First Ones
    • 14:00 PST (17:00 EST, 23:00 CET)

Friday, December 17th

  • Anduin Wrynn – Heroic Sepulcher of the First Ones
    • 13:00 PST (16:00 EST, 22:00 CET)
  • Vigilant Guardian – Heroic Sepulcher of the First Ones
    • 14:00 PST (17:00 EST, 23:00 CET)

Shortly after, additional information was provided about the steps the team takes when setting up and announcing raid tests.

  • The week prior to a PTR test, we confirm which bosses are ready for testing and ask their designers to have them in a stable & testable state by the end of the week.
  • The weekend before a PTR test, we generate a new build to use for testing.
  • While bugs are to be expected on PTR, we want to ensure a baseline level of stability so that we’re not wasting players’ time. This is where QA comes in and they do a great job finding any bugs that could interfere with testing.
  • Once we’ve fixed any major issues & have QA’s blessing, we put the new build on the PTR and post our announcement for raid testing.

External Cooldowns in Groups

Community Council member Artemisha began a discussion about external cooldowns and buffs in group content. The discussion had several points discussed including:

  • Stacking of cooldowns to superpower one member of the group
  • The friction of not being the member getting a buff vs being the one selected
  • The pressures and complications of determining who receives the buff
  • The pressures on raid leaders to make sure all external buffs are provided, plus the added devaluation of classes that can’t bring a buff to the raid, or have more niche utility than outright group damage increases.
  • How the design space for buffs opens and closes with implementation and social interactions and pressures

Manny: Twitter Twitch

Jared: Twitter Twitch

For Azeroth! Discord

LISTEN ON THESE PLATFORMS:

Live Archieve Radio Stream